top of page


The St. Joseph High School Cadets are one of the most highly decorated programs in Connecticut high school football history, having won a total of 15 state championships which is second all time (1980, '81, '82, '83, '84, '88, '89, '90, '09, '10, '13, '14, ‘17. '18 and '19) since a state playoff system was instituted in 1976. In 2019, St. Joseph won the Connecticut Class L State Championship with a 17-13 victory over Daniel Hand at Veterans Stadium in New Britain.  It was the seventh state title in ten years for the Cadets, who also won the Class SS State Championship in 2009, Class S State Championship in 2010 and 2017, and Class M in 2013, 2014 and 2018.  Nicknamed the "Hogs" since the early 1980's, the current Head Coach is Joe DellaVecchia, who took over the program in 1998.

Team Photo_edited_edited.jpg

2019 St. Joseph High School Varsity Team

​DellaVecchia is a graduate of St. Joseph (1981), a former player under Coach Ed McCarthy, and has earned the unique distinction of winning a state championship as a player, an assistant coach, and a head coach at the same school. Former head coaches of the Cadets include the aforementioned McCarthy (three state titles at St. Joe's), and Christy Hayes (five state titles at St. Joe's). McCarthy has the most victories in Connecticut football history at the time of his retirement and has won four additional state titles. Hayes is retired from his position as Athletic Director of Wilton HS.  Both McCarthy and Hayes are members of the SJ Hall of Fame. 


Legend of the Hog

The formal mascot of St. Joseph High School is the Cadet. But for the past 43 seasons, the football team has been known as the Hogs.

How did they become the Hogs? It all started on a cold, frigid, fall morning; October 25th, 1980 to be exact. St. Joe’s, which was ranked #4 in the state football polls at that time, was hosting a strong Stratford team; and had a showdown with arch rival and #3 ranked Fairfield Prep the following week.

Heavy winds and rain were in the forecast.  The field would be a muddy mess, nearly unplayable – it had very little grass to begin with.  Coach Ed McCarthy came into the locker room to discuss the possibility of postponing the game, and the affects a short week of practice sandwiched between games with two of our biggest and toughest rivals would have on the team.  As he started to talk, he was abruptly interrupted with a loud protest from the back of the locker room, “We are Hogs, and we love to play in the mud!”

The game was played that morning, in a monsoon no less.  St. Joe’s won 20-0.  Following the game a new battle cry was heard for the remainder of the season, “We are the Hogs, and the Hogs are great!”

With their bruising running game, complimented by a creative passing attack and a tenacious defense, this 1980 team represented the best attributes of the wily hog;  and they went on to win the school’s first football state championship ever! Football purists and genuine St. Joe’s fans felt comfortable with the Hog, and the Hog had won it all – and thus, HOG MANIA was born!



St Joes Record Book 1971-2023

St Joes vs Opponents Scores

State Championship History


Tyler Matakevich Leads Temple in Tackles Vs. Notre Dame


Maxwell Club’s Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation’s top defensive player.

Click Here  Philadelphia Paper

Click Here CT Post Coverage

Click Here for the video


Bronko Nagurski Award

Click Here for the ESPN coverge

Click Here for the  Washington Post Coverage

Click Here for Twitter


2015 Finalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy 

Click Here


Matakevich was named a first-team Walter Camp all-American.

Click Here


Walter Camp CT Player of the Year

Click Here


Temple's #8 Tyler Matakevich selected Defensive Player of the Year and a unanimous first-team selection.

Click Here on Twitter


USA Today All-American Teams For 2015 College Football Season

Click Here


Senior Class Award

Click Here


Meet the NFL Prospect: Temple LB Tyler Matakevich

Click Here 


Biography of TEMPLE'S #8

Click Here


bottom of page